MINORS BEHIND BARS

A childhood in detention, a report on 4 continents, 12 countries, 69 prisons, 8 years old. (1999-2007)

Visa d'Or Award 2007

  

More than a million children around the world live in detention without being able to benefit from the assistance of a lawyer, most often in countries where there are no children's courts or specialized judges, in defiance of international treaties .

The CRC, United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, signed in 1989, stipulates that no child will be deprived of liberty, that detention should only be a measure of last resort and be as short as possible.

 

The way a state treats its prisoners is a pretty good indicator of the quality of its democracy and a society is also judged by the way it treats its children. However, in many countries, re-education camps, prisons, closed centers, remand centers, penal colonies, and juvenile prisons keep young people detained in arbitrary, humiliating, repressive and inhuman conditions.

Too often, they are not separated from adults, faced with violence, mistreatment, corporal punishment, sexual abuse, forced prostitution, racketeering and caïdat. Access to education is denied to them. Overcrowding, promiscuity, poor nutrition, lack of hygiene, lack of medical care are the rule.

 

The vast majority of these minors sent to prison are not in conflict with the law by choice but because of the misery of which they are victims. Prison worsens their situation and it would be more judicious to offer them alternatives to imprisonment.

Can we consider educating by offering only confinement?

I wanted to testify with my photographer's gaze of the state of juvenile justice in 12 countries with different geopolitical characteristics on 4 continents: countries at peace and at war, democratic states and authoritarian regimes. From one continent to another, one cannot help but be struck by the resemblance of certain scenes ...

I encountered - and this is an understatement - the greatest difficulties in obtaining the necessary authorizations throughout the eight years that this work lasted from 1999 to 2007. It took me, for example, a year and a half of procedures to have in the end only 1h30 in each of the three prisons visited in Russia. In the United States, the same steps took me three years ... I approached a total of sixty countries. The 12 countries I have been able to access have opened the doors to sixty-nine prisons for me. There are also thousands of young people met behind bars.

Exchanges with some will remain in my memory. I was moved, touched by Sergei, Sacha, Dimitri, Pablo, Armando, Pascal, Alain, Matpala, Rivitchet, Khaled, Ali, Ron, David, Swasan, Evariste, Philibert, Sabrynn, Mike and many others.

 

I was carried by the idea of ​​bringing our eyes inside these places of detention and to carry their gaze outside. I wanted to give these young people back their dignity, to break the silence in which they find themselves and above all to break their isolation.

 

A report to get them out of the shadows ...

Lizzie SADIN

1/128

MINEURS EN PEINES

Une enfance en détention, un reportage sur 4 continents, 12 pays, 69 prisons, 8 ans. (1999-2007)

Prix Visa d'Or 2007

  

       Plus d'un million d'enfants dans le monde vivent en détention sans pouvoir bénéficier de l’aide d'un avocat, le plus souvent dans des pays où n'existent ni tribunaux pour enfants, ni juges spécialisés, au mépris des traités internationaux.

     La CIDE, Convention des Nations Unies relative aux Droits de l' Enfant, signée en 1989, stipule que nul enfant ne sera privé de liberté, que la détention ne doit être qu'une mesure de dernier ressort et être d'une durée aussi brève que possible. 

 

     La façon dont un Etat traite ses prisonniers est un assez bon indicateur de la qualité de sa démocratie et une société se juge aussi sur la manière dont elle traite ses enfants. Pourtant, dans nombre de pays, des camps de rééducation, des prisons, des centres fermés, des maisons d'arrêt, des colonies pénitentiaires, des bagnes pour enfants maintiennent les jeunes détenus dans des conditions arbitraires, humiliantes, répressives et inhumaines. 

   Trop souvent, ils ne sont pas séparés des adultes, confrontés à la violence, mauvais traitements, châtiments corporels,  abus sexuels,  prostitution forcée,  racket et caïdat. L'accès à l'éducation leur est refusé. La surpopulation, promiscuité, mal-nutrition, manque d'hygiène, absence de soins médicaux sont la règle. 

 

    La grande majorité de ces mineurs envoyés en prison ne sont pas en conflit avec la Loi par choix mais à cause de la misère dont ils sont victimes. La prison aggrave leur situation et il serait plus judicieux de leur proposer des mesures alternatives à l’emprisonnement.

                                                Peut-on envisager d’éduquer en ne proposant que l’enfermement ? 

   J'ai voulu témoigner avec mon regard de photographe de l'état de la justice juvénile dans 12 pays aux caractéristiques géopolitiques différentes sur les 4 continents : pays en paix et en guerre, Etats de droit et régimes autoritaires. D’un continent à l’autre, on ne peut qu’être frappé par la ressemblance de certaines scènes… 

    J'ai rencontré - et c'est peu dire - les plus grandes difficultés pour obtenir les autorisations nécessaires tout au long des huit années qu'a duré ce travail de 1999 à 2007. Il m'a fallu par exemple un an et demi de démarches pour disposer au final seulement 1h30 dans chacune des trois prisons visitées en Russie. Aux Etats-Unis les mêmes démarches m'ont pris trois ans… J'ai sollicité au total une soixantaine de pays. Les 12 pays auxquels j'ai pu accéder m'ont ouvert les portes de soixante-neuf prisons. Ce sont aussi des milliers de jeunes rencontrés derrière les barreaux.

    Des échanges avec certains resteront dans ma mémoire. J'ai été émue, touchée par Sergueï, Sacha, Dimitri, Pablo, Armando, Pascal, Alain, Matpala, Rivitchet, Khaled, Ali, Ron, David, Swasan, Evariste, Philibert, Sabrynn, Mike et tant d'autres.

 

   J'ai été portée par l'idée d'amener nos regards à l'intérieur de ces lieux de détention et de porter leurs regards à l'extérieur. J'ai voulu redonner à ces jeunes la dignité qui est la leur, briser le silence dans lequel ils se trouvent et surtout rompre leur isolement.

 

             Un reportage pour les sortir de l'ombre …

                                                                                                                                                                        Lizzie SADIN

1/128