BUDA ... PEST BRUNE  / FAR RIGHT IN HUNGARY

(2012)

Viktor Orbán wishes to grant a passport to all ethnic Hungarians living in neighboring countries. Slovakia, the main concerned, reacts strongly. A nationalist escalation that could destabilize the EU as a whole. The stake is to redraw the current state borders to restore the sphere of influence of Budapest which, according to the plans of Orbán, should cover no less than 15 million Hungarians. That is 50% more than the number of inhabitants of present-day Hungary, a return to what was the population of Greater Hungary, a geographical area which would include, around Hungary, Slovakia, Vojvodina - a province of Serbia , as well as part of Transylvania, an area which, not de jure, but de facto, would be jointly managed by Hungary and by the three countries to which these territories belong, Slovakia, Serbia and Romania.

Hungary thus hopes to cultivate relations with its diaspora, which the Treaty of the Trianon, dating from June 4, 1920, placed outside the Magyar borders. A return to Greater Hungary, and a reparation in short for the Diktat imposed and which remains in the memory of all its citizens. This diktat imposed on the defeated Hungary humiliating mutilations, loss of 2/3 of its territory and almost 2/3 of its population (from 20 to 7.6 million). A particularly bitter pill that the Hungarians have never swallowed, breeding ground for virulent nationalism.

Everything is there and everything is still very much alive in people's minds in an increasingly disturbing way. The nationalist taxi driver, the entrances to private buildings or restaurants, shops selling nationalist items, people in the street ... and rock groups like Karpatia only fuel this nationalist fiber among young people during their sulphurous concerts where listeners scream "Sieg Heil" !. And Jobbik is surfing and keeping the wave going ...

The nationalist policy led by Fidesz steals some of its ideas and supporters from Jobbik. To bounce back, the far right has therefore decided to go on the offensive, bringing its favorite theme back to the fore: the Roma. Jobbik has created a rural militia - the Hungarian Guard - It declares that it wants to defend Hungary physically, morally and intellectually. It is at the origin of many misdeeds against the Roma population, as recently in this small Hungarian village of Gyöngyöspata. For three months, from March to May 2011, in the midst of the Hungarian EU presidency, Gyöngyöspata was occupied by fascist militias. Scared, many Roma living in the surroundings flee. The Red Cross then considers the phenomenon sufficiently worrying to charter buses and shelter 277 women and children. Officially, for these militias, it was a question of training militants capable of "making public order" in the face of the Roma of the village accused of delinquency. These nationalist groups hide under the name of "association of civil patrols". A legal mask necessary since the dissolution in July 2009 of the Hungarian guard. The Jobbik having won the municipal elections in Gyöngyöspata, took as 1st measure: forced labor for the Roma.

In Gyöngyöspata, a village of 2,800 souls 80 km from Budapest, the 450 Roma literally live under a regime of terror.

The city is administered by Jobbik. In the mind of the new Mayor Oszkar Juhasz, the unemployed are the Roma.

Its first measure was to put the unemployed into compulsory labor. If they refuse, they will have their social allowances cut off for 3 years. The salary is 200 €, less than the Hungarian minimum wage (350 €). According to the mayor, for whom this village is Jobbik's laboratory of ideas, there are two types of human beings: "those who build and those who destroy, the Roma" ...

At 7 am, in the cold, a foreman of the town hall calls and orders the departure for compulsory work. The town hall brings tools that are deliberately unsuitable, axes, saws that do not cut, useless hammers. “Strangers come to film us from afar, in order to prove that we are not working, that we are lazy, and we are asked to clear brush on the sloping ground in front of our houses. And do you know why ? To facilitate rounds of intimidation and access to fascist militiamen ... They also forbid us to collect kindling to heat ourselves. They ordered us to burn it on the spot ”.

The money for compulsory labor is partly given by the State for 80% and the town hall is fining us to recover the money ... ”The water was cut off. "And without water", threatens the new fascist mayor, "the hygienic conditions not being respected, the children will be taken away from you!" Another intimidation, the house of the representative of the Roma of the village is under the permanent control of a camera from the town hall which films it day and night ... Big Brother is watching you ...

Olaszliszka, another village, another story. This October 15, 2011, despite its ban to exist and therefore to demonstrate, the Guarda, with other fascist militias takes possession of the premises of this small village of Olaszliszka and intimidates its Roma inhabitants barely protected by the police stationed in front of their houses . They commemorate the anniversary of the death of a professor who was killed in 2006 by Roma because he had run over with his car a little Roma girl, whom everyone thought was dead. She was in fact only injured.

Yet since the death of this “ethnic” Hungarian, 7 Roma have been killed and 10 others injured ....

That day, the banners, the fascist uniforms, the speeches follow one another.

A Hitler lookalike is even there, scary! At the end of the ceremony, the police pretend to ask for identity papers, for the form. They will leave, all without exception, without being worried.

In Tiszavasvari, the 1st deputy Csaszar Jozsef proudly explains the new measures taken in this other high place of the Hungarian fascist far right which also wants to be a Jobbik laboratory. For example, the creation of a "gendarmerie" which acts as a militia in this small town of 14,000 inhabitants. Worse, the Roma are parked in Szelek Street outside the city and Roma children, relegated to the 1st floor of the school, are not allowed to use the toilets or eat in the canteen at the same table as the children. "Hungarian".

The Betyarsereg: the rebirth of the brigand army. The Betyárs, translated as "bandits" had made life difficult for the Austrian occupier during the 18th and 19th centuries. Living in the forest, they led attacks on Austrian stagecoaches across the country, or organized sabotage actions. The most famous of the Betyárs, Sándor Rózsa (1813-1878), had a long life as a brigand, he took part in the war of 1848 and died in Austrian jails. The spirit of the Betyars is in full rebirth. Now, it is officially that a new Betyársereg has been launched, under the patronage of László Toroczkai György Budaházy and Zsolt Tyirityán. On their website, we can see them armed with whips in the forest to simulate a Roma hunt ...

The fascist group Karpatia which rallies thousands of Nazillions has been invited by the mayor of Gyöngyöspata for a concert of intimidation. 3000 Nazillions prowling around Roma homes ... Many of these Roma have fled to Canada in recent weeks before it is too late. But rare are those who can afford it ...

Lizzie SADIN

1/41

BUDA...PESTE BRUNE

(2012)

      Viktor Orbán souhaite accorder un passeport à tous les Hongrois de souche vivant dans les pays voisins. La Slovaquie, principale concernée, réagit vivement. Une escalade nationaliste qui pourrait déstabiliser l’UE dans son ensemble. L’enjeu est de redessiner les frontières étatiques actuelles pour restaurer la sphère d’influence de Budapest qui, selon les plans de Orbán, devrait couvrir pas moins de 15 millions de Hongrois. Soit 50% de plus que le nombre d’habitants de la Hongrie actuelle, un retour à ce qu’était la population de la Grande Hongrie, espace géographique qui engloberait, autour de la Hongrie, la Slovaquie, la Voïvodine -une province de Serbie, ainsi qu’une partie de la Transylvanie, un espace qui, non pas de droit, mais de facto, serait conjointement géré par la Hongrie et par les trois pays auxquels appartiennent ces territoires, la Slovaquie, la Serbie et la Roumanie.

      La Hongrie espère ainsi cultiver les relations avec sa diaspora, que le Traité du Trianon, datant du 4 juin 1920, a placée hors des frontières magyares. Un retour à la Grande Hongrie, et une réparation en somme du Diktat imposé et qui reste dans la mémoire de tous ses citoyens. Ce diktat imposait à la Hongrie vaincue des mutilations humiliantes, perte des 2/3 de son territoire et de près des 2/3 de sa population (de 20 à 7,6 millions). Une pilule particulièrement amère que les Hongrois n’ont jamais avalée, terreau d’un nationalisme virulent.

     Tout est là et tout est encore très vivace dans les esprits de façon de plus en plus inquiétante. Le chauffeur de taxi nationaliste, les entrées de bâtiments ou de restaurants privés, les boutiques vendant des objets nationalistes, les gens de la rue... et les groupes rock comme Karpatia ne font qu’attiser cette fibre nationaliste chez les jeunes lors de leurs concerts sulfureux où les auditeurs hurlent « Sieg Heil » !. Et le Jobbik surfe et entretient la vague...

     La politique nationaliste menée par le Fidesz chippe au Jobbik une partie de ses idées et de ses sympathisants. Pour rebondir, l’extrême droite a donc décidé de passer à l’offensive, en remettant au premier plan son thème fétiche : les Roms. Le Jobbik a créé une milice rurale - la Garde hongroise - Elle déclare vouloir défendre la Hongrie sur le plan physique, moral et intellectuel . Elle est à l’origine de nombreux méfaits à l’encontre de la population Rom comme récemment dans ce petit village hongrois de Gyöngyöspata. Pendant trois mois, de mars à mai 2011, en pleine présidence hongroise de l’UE, Gyöngyöspata a été occupé par les milices fascistes. Apeurés, de nombreux Roms vivant dans les environs fuient. La Croix Rouge juge alors le phénomène suffisamment inquiétant pour affréter des cars et mettre à l’abri 277 femmes et enfants. Officiellement, pour ces milices, il s’agissait de former des militants capables de « faire régner l’ordre public » face aux Roms du village accusés de délinquance. Ces groupuscules nationalistes se cachent sous le nom « d’association de patrouilles civiles ». Un masque juridique nécessaire depuis la dissolution en juillet 2009 de la garde hongroise. Le Jobbik ayant gagné les élections municipales à Gyöngyöspata, a pris comme 1ère mesure : le travail forcé pour les Roms.

     A Gyöngyöspata, village de 2800 âmes à 80 km de Budapest, les 450 Roms vivent littéralement  sous un régime de  terreur.

La ville est administrée par le Jobbik. Dans l'esprit du nouveau Maire Oszkar Juhasz, les chômeurs sont les Roms.

Sa premiere mesure a été de mettre les chômeurs au travail obligatoire. S ’ils refusent, ils se verront supprimer les allocations sociales pendant 3 ans. Le salaire est de 200 €, moins que le smic hongrois (350 €). Selon le maire, pour qui ce village est le laboratoire des idées du Jobbik, il y a deux types d’êtres humains : « ceux qui construisent et ceux qui détruisent, les Roms » ...

    A 7h du matin, dans le froid, un contremaître de la mairie fait l’appel et ordonne le départ vers le travail obligatoire. La mairie apporte des outils volontairement inadaptés, des haches, des scies qui ne coupent pas, des marteaux inutiles. « Des inconnus viennent nous filmer de loin, afin de prouver que nous ne travaillons pas, que nous sommes des fainéants et on nous demande de nettoyer des broussailles sur le terrain pentu en face de nos maisons. Et vous savez pourquoi ? Pour faciliter les rondes d’intimidation et l’accès aux miliciens fascistes... Ils nous interdisent aussi de ramasser le petit bois pour nous chauffer. Ils nous ont ordonné de le brûler sur place ».

     L’argent du travail obligatoire est en partie donné par l’Etat pour 80% et la mairie nous met des amendes pour récupèrer ainsi l’argent... » L’eau a été coupée. « Et sans eau », menace le nouveau maire fasciste, « les conditions d’hygiène n’étant pas respectées, on vous retirera les enfants !» Autre intimidation, la maison du représentant des Roms du village est sous le contrôle permanent d’une caméra de la mairie qui le filme jour et nuit... Big Brother is watching you...

     Olaszliszka, autre village, autre histoire. Ce 15 octobre 2011, malgré son interdiction à exister et donc à manifester, la Guarda, avec d’autres milices fascistes prend possession des lieux de ce petit village d’Olaszliszka et intimide ses habitants roms à peine protégés par la police stationnée devant leurs maisons. Ils commémorent la date anniversaire de la mort d’un professeur tué en 2006 par des Roms car il avait renversé avec sa voiture une petite fille rom, que tous avaient crue morte. Elle n'était en fait que blessée.

Pourtant depuis la mort de ce hongrois « de souche », 7 Roms ont été tués et 10 autres blessés....

Ce jour-là, les banderoles, les uniformes fascistes, les discours se succèdent.

Un sosie d’Hitler est même là, effrayant ! A la fin de la cérémonie, la police fait semblant de demander les papiers d’identité, pour la forme. Ils repartiront, tous sans exception, sans être inquiétés.

     A Tiszavasvari, le 1er adjoint Csaszar Jozsef explique fièrement les nouvelles mesures prises dans cet autre haut lieu de l’extrême droite fasciste hongroise qui se veut également un laboratoire du Jobbik. Par exemple, la création d’une « gendarmerie» qui fait office de milice dans cette petite ville de 14 000 habitants. Pire, les Roms sont parqués dans la rue Szelek à l’extérieur de la ville et les enfants Roms, relégués au 1er étage de l’école n’ont pas le droit aux toilettes ni de manger à la cantine à la même table que les «hongrois ».

     Les Betyarsereg : la renaissance de l’armée des brigands. Les Betyárs, traduire par «bandits » avaient mené la vie dure à l’occupant autrichien durant les 18ème et 19ème siècles. Vivant dans la forêt, ils menaient des attaques contre les diligences autrichiennes à travers le pays, ou organisaient des actions de sabotage. Le plus célèbre des Betyárs, Sándor Rózsa (1813-1878), eut une longue vie de brigand, il participa à la guerre de 1848 et mourut dans les geôles autrichiennes. L’esprit des Betyars est en pleine renaissance. Désormais, c’est de façon officielle qu’une nouvelle Betyársereg a été lancée, sous le patronage de László Toroczkai György Budaházy et Zsolt Tyirityán. Sur leur site web, on peut les voir, armés de fouets dans la forêt à simuler une chasse aux Roms...

     Le groupe fasciste Karpatia qui rameute des milliers de nazillons a été invité par le maire de Gyöngyöspata pour un concert d’intimidation. 3000 nazillons rôdant autour des maisons des Roms... Beaucoup de ces Roms ont fui vers le Canada ces dernières semaines avant qu’il ne soit trop tard. Mais rare sont ceux qui en ont les moyens...

                                                                                                                                                                                              Lizzie SADIN

1/41