THE TRAP...

or trafficking in women in Nepal

Carmignac Prize 2017

 

The story often begins in the same way: a stranger, a friend, or, more often than one imagines, an uncle or a cousin makes the promise of a better life to a young Nepalese woman. Wearing expensive clothes or jewelry, it ensures that a job allowing the whole family to subsist as well as new opportunities await them in Kathmandu, the capital, or in India, Malaysia or Kuwait.

Rita had this conversation when she was 16. Living in poverty in Jappa, a village in eastern Nepal, she was promised a better life in India, a few kilometers away. This is how the trap closed gently on her. After crossing the border with her "friend", Rita was entrusted to a man who forced her to prostitute herself to fifteen to twenty men a day, as were many girls and women locked in the same building .

Nilan was only 15 when she was made the same promise. Attracted by the illusion of a better life, she was taken and sold to Dubai where she was forced to work as a maid twenty hours a day, seven days a week. Sexually assaulted by many men, she became pregnant. This did not prevent the abuse from continuing. During the eight months of her pregnancy, she was held against her will, often chained to bed. She was eventually sent back to Nepal, but the baby did not survive the torture she had endured.

Sarita was only 5 years old when her father died, marking the start of an inevitable downward spiral. Abused for years by her stepfather, she ran away from home at the age of 12. To survive in the streets of Kathmandu, she worked in restaurants locally called “Cabin restaurants” and adult bars “Dance bars”. Either way, drinks are not the only thing sold to the many male customers ... At the age of 16, she was raped and became pregnant. Her attacker married her, but abandoned her five months later, taking all her money. Now twenty-seven years old and with one child, she continues to work in a dance bar and earns less than a hundred dollars a month.

In Nepal, these stories are all too familiar. The country remains one of the poorest states in South Asia with a quarter of its population living below the poverty line. The economic situation worsened in 2015 after the 7.8 magnitude earthquake struck Nepal. Nine thousand people died and 650,000 had to flee their homes. For many families, finding any job became an absolute necessity and for the traffickers it was a godsend. It was there that the carefully prepared trap closed on the young women.

 

Lizzie Sadin spent three months in Nepal to carry out the work presented in this book: “As a woman and a photographer, I have always been interested in human rights issues. I naturally chose to focus on the lives of women and the way in which their fundamental rights are violated ”.

Lizzie's interest in women dates back to the nineties in France when she followed the plight of battered women, from their homes to emergency departments, from the police stations to women's shelters. “I spent three years fighting with the police, social workers and charity volunteers to get access to these women that no one wanted to show,” she says. "I wanted to lift this taboo, be the voice of those who did not have one and show what was hiding in the shadows". Her goal was simple: to force the conversation, to show battered women that they were not alone, that they were the victims of a structural problem that affected society as a whole. "When the photographs were published, people started to express themselves: the women dared to tell their story and that's what I wanted."

 

In Nepal, Lizzie Sadin understands that she is facing a similar omerta which allows this immense traffic to continue. "The Nepalese do not know it, they do not know that we are talking about trafficking, slavery" she explains. “They think it's a classic form of prostitution. Neither public opinion, nor the families of these girls, nor the girls themselves realize what this implies ”.

 

Kathmandu has 20,000 sex workers who sell their services in Cabin restaurants, Dance bars and massage parlors. Between 5,000 and 10,000 women are sold each year from Nepal to India, joining hundreds of thousands of others who have been sold or who have chosen to migrate to find work abroad. What Lizzie Sadin witnesses during these three months across Nepal and parts of India is organized trafficking: a mafia, as Judge Tek Narayan Kunwar called it. A mafia that feeds on hopes and despair.

 

Lizzie Sadin had to fight to get these photographs. “You have to be daring. One has to face the husbands, the pimps, the traffickers, the guards, the guards, the owners of the bars because what is happening is very hidden, ”she says.

 

From these photographs emerges the harsh reality of girls forced to work in these establishments. Their clients, their exploiters, their executioners dominate them like predators. Lizzie Sadin having chosen not to show the acts of abuse, one can only imagine what happens behind these doors once closed.

 

The photographs also illustrate their despair. The word "anguish" takes on its full meaning when we see these girls crossing the border between Nepal and India, clinging to the hope that they will not be turned away as they persist in believing in the wonders that they have been lied about. In one of the shots, a young woman argues with immigration officials and workers from an organization, claiming that she is not the victim of traffickers. A man in custody, a trafficker, listens to the discussion behind bars. He wears a T-shirt proudly inscribed with:

" I am not IN danger, I am THE danger " ...

 

Others collapse when they realize they have been saved from months, if not years, of bondage and abuse. However, their future remains uncertain and they have no other perspective than poverty, prisoners of a life from which they cannot escape.

 

Local authorities have tried to stem this movement. Earlier this year, Nepal banned its citizens from traveling to Gulf countries on tourist visas, and some of those countries stopped issuing work permits to Nepalese. But traffickers are constantly adapting and using India and Sri Lanka as the epicenters of their activities, with rampant corruption helping nothing. In March 2017, a parliamentary report stated that immigration officers at Kathmandu international airport may have been complicit in traffickers "in sending thousands of poor and illiterate women to the Gulf countries in order to work illegally and where they are exploited and abused ”.

 

Abuse takes many forms, from slavery to physical and sexual abuse. Nilan, who was a domestic slave to a family in Dubai, was repeatedly raped by various assailants. When she got pregnant, the head of the family made her understand that she was "sick" and that they could no longer keep her. She was taken to the airport and then sent to prison, her passport having expired. Eight months later, after being expelled from the country, she was able to return to live in Nepal but without her stillborn baby.

 

According to the non-governmental organization Maiti Nepal, which recently carried out a survey of Nepalese workers returning from the Gulf, 67% of them suffer from serious health problems as well as psychological after-effects. Although not all Nepalese women suffer Nilan's fate, many remain scarred by forced servitude.

Maya, for example, endured it five times. The 37-year-old woman, originally from the village of Kharani Faat, near Pokhara, first worked in Kuwait where she looked after twelve children, eighteen to twenty hours a day, for less than a hundred dollars a month. She describes this situation as hellish, a hell that lasted two years. On her return, her uncle sent her away. Twice. Then she was sent to Dubai and Oman. Today, thanks to the Pourakhi organization, she can finally return to her hometown where her children are waiting for her.

 

The problem, in France as in Nepal, remains the same. “It's gender-based violence,” explains Lizzie Sadin. Violence deeply rooted in society. “They were taught to be commanded, docile, to obey men, husbands and brothers” Given that they rarely have access to education, information and because of threats of reprisals, they choose silence.

 

However, there is a difference between what the photographer could see in France twenty years earlier and what she saw in Nepal in 2017. “In France, the women I photographed invited me to take their picture for bear witness. They wanted to exist through my images, ”says Lizzie. “I would talk to them, I would hold their hands, I would cry with them and then I would photograph them. In exchange, I offered them a voice ”. In Nepal, on the other hand, the women photographed by Lizzie do not dare to take the plunge. " They are scared ". They continue to be the victims of a societal structure where violence against women is rooted in mores.

 

Local organizations are fighting to change this perception. They work to disseminate prevention campaigns across the country and work directly with local police forces. On the border between Nepal and India, for example, they help immigration officers identify traffickers among men who claim to be traveling with their wives, daughters or sisters. They call families and friends on the phone to verify the veracity of their words. Those caught in the act are convicted of human trafficking and are sent to prison for a sentence ranging from seven to ten years.

 

Judge Tek Narayan Kunwar has done a lot for these women as well. Winner of an award from the United States Department of State, he is responsible for drastically reducing the time between the arrest of a trafficker and his trial, from five years to less than ninety days.

 

These actions are bearing fruit. Some victims start talking and Rita is one of them. Six months after being forced into prostitution, she was rescued by the charity Sakti Samuha. “Rita now wants to join the organization and help girls like her across Nepal learn about reality,” says Lizzie Sadin.

 

For the photographer, organized trafficking is not just a consequence of the economic situation and the lack of opportunities in Nepal. It also raises the question of women's rights: the right to receive an education, to choose their future, to live their life without fear of physical or psychological violence from their husbands and families. It's about changing an entire belief system, a system that considers women to be inferior to men.

 

Lizzie Sadin fought against this system in the nineties, using her photographs of battered women in France. Today, she continues this fight for the women of Nepal, with the hope that her photographs will help to change mentalities. Not only in Nepal, but also all over the world.

Olivier LAURENT

Editor-in-Chief Photography New York Times

 

 

1/73

LE PIÈGE... 

Traite  des femmes au Népal

Prix Carmignac du Photojournalisme 2017

 

     L’histoire commence souvent de la même façon : un inconnu, un ami, ou, plus souvent qu’on ne l’imagine, un oncle ou un cousin fait la promesse d’une vie meilleure à une jeune Népalaise. Arborant vêtements ou bijoux onéreux, celui-ci assure qu’un emploi permettant à toute la famille de subsister ainsi que de nouvelles opportunités l’attendent à Katmandou, la capitale, ou en Inde, en Malaisie ou au Koweït.

     Rita eut cette conversation à l’âge de 16 ans. Vivant alors dans la pauvreté à Jappa, village situé dans l’est du Népal, on lui promit une vie meilleure en Inde, à quelques kilomètres de là. C’est ainsi que le piège se referma doucement sur elle. Après avoir franchi la frontière avec son « ami », Rita fut confiée à un homme qui la força à se prostituer auprès de quinze à vingt hommes par jour, comme le furent de nombreuses filles et femmes enfermées dans le même bâtiment.

     Nilan n’avait que 15 ans lorsqu’on lui fit la même promesse. Attirée par l’illusion d’une vie meilleure, elle fut emmenée et vendue à Dubaï où on la força à travailler comme domestique vingt heures par jour, sept jours sur sept. Sexuellement agressée par de nombreux hommes, elle tomba enceinte. Cela n’empêcha pas les abus de persister. Durant les huit mois de sa grossesse, elle fut retenue contre son gré, souvent enchaînée au lit. On finit par la renvoyer au Népal, mais le bébé ne survécut pas à la torture qu’elle avait endurée.

      Sarita n’avait que 5 ans à la mort de son père, marquant le début d’une spirale inévitable. Maltraitée pendant des années par son beau-père, elle s’enfuit de chez elle à l’âge de 12 ans. Pour survivre dans les rues de Katmandou, elle travailla dans des restaurants appelés localement « Cabin restaurants » et bars pour adultes « Dance bars ». Dans les deux cas, les boissons ne sont pas la seule chose vendue aux nombreux clients masculins... À l’âge de 16 ans, elle fut victime d’un viol et tomba enceinte. Son agresseur l’épousa, mais l’abandonna cinq mois plus tard en emportant tout son argent. Aujourd’hui âgée de vingt-sept ans et avec un enfant, elle continue de travailler dans un Dance bar et gagne moins de cent dollars par mois.

     Au Népal, ces histoires ne sont que trop familières. Le pays reste l’un des états les plus pauvres d’Asie du Sud avec un quart de sa population vivant sous le seuil de pauvreté. La situation économique s’est aggravée en 2015 après le séisme de magnitude 7.8 qui a frappé le Népal. Neuf mille personnes périrent et 650 000 durent fuir leur foyer. Pour de nombreuses familles, trouver n’importe quel emploi devint une nécessité absolue et pour les trafiquants ce fut une aubaine. C’est là que le piège soigneusement préparé se referma sur les jeunes femmes. 

 

    Lizzie Sadin a passé trois mois au Népal pour réaliser le travail présenté dans ce livre : « En tant que femme et photographe, je me suis toujours intéressée aux problématiques des Droits Humains. J’ai naturellement choisi de me concentrer sur la vie des femmes et la façon dont leurs Droits fondamentaux sont bafoués ».

     L’intérêt de Lizzie pour les femmes remonte aux années quatre-vingt-dix en France lorsqu’elle suivit le calvaire de femmes battues, de leur domicile aux services d’urgence, du commissariat aux refuges pour femmes. « J’ai passé trois ans à me battre avec les services de police, les travailleurs sociaux et les bénévoles d’associations caritatives pour avoir accès à ces femmes que personne ne voulait montrer » relate-t-elle. « Je voulais lever ce tabou, être la voix de celles qui n’en avaient pas et montrer ce qui se cachait dans l’ombre ». Son objectif était simple : forcer la conversation, montrer aux femmes battues qu’elles n’étaient pas seules, qu’elles étaient les victimes d’un problème structurel qui affecte la société toute entière. « Lorsque les photographies ont été publiées, les gens ont commencé à s’ exprimer : les femmes ont osé raconter leur histoire et c’est ce que je souhaitais ».

 

    Au Népal, Lizzie Sadin comprend qu’elle se heurte à une omerta similaire qui permet à cet immense trafic de perdurer.  « Les Népalais ne le savent pas, ils ignorent que l’on parle de trafic, d’ esclavage » explique-t-elle. « Ils pensent que c’est une forme de prostitution classique. Ni l’opinion publique, ni les familles de ces filles, ni les filles elles-mêmes ne réalisent ce que cela implique ».

 

    Katmandou compte 20 000 travailleuses du sexe qui vendent leurs services dans les Cabin restaurants, les Dance bars et les salons de massage. Entre 5 000 et 10 000 femmes sont vendues chaque année du Népal à l’Inde, rejoignant ainsi des centaines de milliers d’autres qui ont été vendues ou qui ont choisi d’émigrer pour trouver du travail à l’étranger. Ce dont Lizzie Sadin est témoin durant ces trois mois à travers le Népal et certaines parties de l’Inde, c’est un trafic organisé : une mafia, ainsi que l’a qualifié le juge Tek Narayan Kunwar. Une mafia qui se nourrit des espoirs et du désespoir. 

 

      Lizzie Sadin dut se battre pour obtenir ces photographies. « Il faut être audacieux. Il faut faire face aux maris, aux proxénètes, aux trafiquants, aux gardes, aux vigiles, aux propriétaires des bars car ce qui se passe est très dissimulé » raconte-t-elle.

 

     De ces photographies surgit la dure réalité des filles forcées à travailler dans ces établissements. Leurs clients, leurs exploiteurs, leurs bourreaux les dominent tels des prédateurs. Lizzie Sadin ayant choisi de ne pas montrer les actes d’abus, on ne peut qu’ imaginer ce qui se passe derrière ces portes une fois refermées.

 

   Les photographies illustrent également leur désespoir. Le mot « angoisse » prend tout son sens lorsque l’on voit ces filles traverser la frontière entre le Népal et l’Inde, s’accrochant à l’espoir de n’être pas refoulées tandis qu’elles persistent à croire aux merveilles qu’on leur a promises. Sur l’un des clichés, une jeune femme se dispute avec des officiers de l’immigration et des travailleurs d’une organisation, affirmant qu’elle n’est pas la victime de trafiquants. Un homme en garde à vue, un trafiquant, écoute la discussion derrière les barreaux. Il porte un tee-shirt où est inscrit fièrement :

                                                                    « Je ne suis pas EN danger, je suis LE danger »...

 

     D’autres s’effondrent lorsqu’elles réalisent qu’elles ont été sauvées de mois, si ce n’est d’années, de servitude et d’abus. Pourtant, leur avenir reste incertain et elles n’ont d’autre perspective que la pauvreté, prisonnières d’une vie dont elles ne peuvent s’échapper.

 

      Les autorités locales ont tenté d’endiguer ce mouvement. Plus tôt cette année, le Népal a interdit à ses citoyens de se rendre dans les pays du Golfe avec un visa touristique et certains de ces pays ont cessé de délivrer des permis de travail aux Népalais. Mais les trafiquants s’adaptent constamment et utilisent l’Inde et le Sri Lanka comme épicentres de leurs activités, la corruption rampante n’aidant en rien. En mars 2017, un rapport parlementaire affirmait que des officiers de l’immigration de l’aéroport international de Katmandou ont pu être complices de trafiquants « dans l’envoi de milliers de femmes pauvres et illettrées vers les pays du Golfe dans le but de travailler illégalement et où elles sont exploitées et maltraitées ».

 

     Les abus prennent de nombreuses formes, de l’esclavage aux sévices physiques et sexuels. Nilan, qui fut esclave domestique d’une famille de Dubaï, fut violée à plusieurs reprises par différents agresseurs. Lorsqu’elle tomba enceinte, le chef de famille lui fit comprendre qu’elle était « malade » et qu’ils ne pouvaient plus la garder. Elle fut emmenée à l’aéroport puis envoyée en prison, son passeport ayant expiré. Huit mois plus tard, après avoir été expulsée du pays, elle put rentrer vivre au Népal mais sans son bébé, mort-né.

 

     Selon l’organisation non gouvernementale Maiti Nepal qui a récemment effectué un sondage auprès de travailleuses népalaises de retour du Golfe, 67 % d’entre elles souffrent de graves problèmes de santé ainsi que de séquelles psychologiques. Bien que toutes les Népalaises ne subissent pas le sort de Nilan, nombreuses sont celles qui restent marquées par la servitude forcée.

Maya, par exemple, l’a endurée cinq fois. Cette femme de 37 ans, originaire du village de Kharani Faat, près de Pokhara, a d’abord travaillé au Koweït où elle s’occupait de douze enfants, dix-huit à vingt heures par jour, pour moins de cent dollars par mois. Elle décrit cette situation comme infernale, un enfer qui dura deux ans. À son retour, son oncle la renvoya. Deux fois. Puis elle fut envoyée à Dubaï et Oman. Aujourd’hui, grâce à l’organisation Pourakhi, elle peut enfin rentrer dans sa ville natale où ses enfants l’attendent.

 

      Le problème, en France comme au Népal, reste le même. « C’est une violence basée sur le genre » explique Lizzie Sadin. Une violence profondément ancrée dans la société. « On leur a appris à être commandées, dociles, à obéir aux hommes, aux maris, aux frères » Étant donné qu’elles n’ont que rarement accès à l’éducation, à l’information et à cause des menaces de représailles, elles font le choix du silence.

 

      Il existe cependant une différence entre ce que la photographe a pu voir en France vingt ans auparavant et ce qu'elle a vu au Népal en 2017. « En France, les femmes que j’ai photographiées m’invitaient à les prendre en photo pour témoigner. Elles voulaient exister à travers mes images » raconte Lizzie. « Je leur parlais, je tenais leurs mains, je pleurais avec elles puis je les photographiais. En échange, je leur offrais une voix ».  Au Népal, à l’inverse, les femmes photographiées par Lizzie n’osent pas franchir le pas. « Elles ont peur ». Elles continuent d’être les victimes d’une structure sociétale où la violence envers les femmes est ancrée dans les mœurs.

 

      Les organisations locales se battent pour changer cette perception. Elles travaillent à diffuser à travers le pays des campagnes de prévention et collaborent directement avec les forces de police locales. À la frontière entre le Népal et l’Inde, par exemple, elles aident les officiers de l’immigration à déceler les trafiquants parmi les hommes qui prétendent voyager avec leur femme, fille ou sœur. Elles appellent au téléphone familles et amis afin de vérifier la véracité de leurs propos. Ceux pris en flagrant délit sont condamnés pour trafic d’êtres humains et sont envoyés en prison pour une peine allant de sept à dix ans.

 

      Le juge Tek Narayan Kunwar a également beaucoup agi pour ces femmes. Lauréat d’un prix du Département d’État des États-Unis, il est responsable de la réduction drastique du délai entre l’arrestation d’un trafiquant et son jugement, qui est ainsi passé de cinq ans à moins de quatre-vingt-dix jours.

 

       Ces actions portent leurs fruits. Certaines victimes commencent à parler et Rita est l’une d’entre elles. Six mois après avoir été forcée à se prostituer, elle fut sauvée par l’association caritative Sakti Samuha. « Rita veut désormais rejoindre l’organisation et aider les filles comme elle à travers le Népal à prendre connaissance de la réalité » raconte Lizzie Sadin.

 

     Pour la photographe, le trafic organisé n’est pas simplement une conséquence de la situation économique et du manque d’opportunités au Népal. Il pose également la question des Droits des femmes : le droit de recevoir une éducation, de choisir son avenir, de vivre sa vie sans crainte des violences physiques ou psychologiques de leurs époux et famille. Il s’agit de changer un système entier de croyances, un système qui considère que les femmes sont inférieures aux hommes.

 

      Lizzie Sadin a lutté contre ce système dans les années quatre-vingt-dix, à l’aide de ses photographies de femmes battues en France. Aujourd’hui, elle poursuit ce combat pour les femmes du Népal, avec l’espoir que ses photographies aideront à changer les mentalités. Non seulement au Népal, mais également partout dans le monde.

                                                                                                                              Olivier LAURENT

                                                                                                                    International Photo Editor, Washington Post

 

 


 

1/73